“#GIRLBOSS” by Sophia Amoruso: First Thoughts

I’ve heard an illustration that goes: a renowned doctor dies and goes to Heaven, and he meets God. He was a world-famous humanitarian, a loving husband and father, and had helped countless people. The doctor asks, “How was my life?” and God says, “Great! But you were supposed to be an actor.”

I’ve been thinking about missed opportunities. What if right before J.K. Rowling released “Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone,” another writer had a more brilliant teen wizard idea, but sat on their ass and never acted on it? What if before Stephenie Meyer released “Twilight,” there was an even better teen vampire romance novel out there, but the author never had the guts to share it?

I’m reading “#GIRLBOSS” by Sophia Amoruso, the 30-year-old — yes, 30! — CEO of fashion retailing juggernaut Nasty Gal. In her early 20’s, she was literally dumpster diving, living on friends’ couches, unemployed, and a community college dropout. She tells her story: “2006: I open up an eBay shop called Nasty Gal Vintage. 2014: I am the CEO of a $100-million-plus business with a fifty-thousand-square-foot office in Los Angeles, a distribution and fulfillment center in Kentucky, and three hundred and fifty employees.”

My favorite quote early in the book: “My mom says that when I was five, I got a red string and ran across the playground with it trailing after me. All of the other kids asked what it was, and I told them it was a kite. Soon everyone had red strings, and we all ran together, our kites high in the sky. …When you believe in yourself, other people will believe in you, too.”

Leave a Reply

